skip to content
 

CANCELLED: NEWTON: LIFE AFTER GRAVITY

1:00pm-2:00pm on Friday 1 April

Times shown are in GMT (UTC +0) up to the 26th March. For events on or after 27th March times are in BST (UTC +1).

Whipple Museum of the History of Science, Free School Lane, CB2 3RH

For the last thirty years of his life, Isaac Newton lived in London and ran the Royal Mint as well as the Royal Society. Formerly a reclusive scholar at Cambridge, now he moved in aristocratic circles, exerted political influence and became very rich.

Basing her talk round a painting by William Hogarth that is packed with Newtonian references, Dr Patricia Fara will describe some less familiar aspects of Newton’s life and fame, including his political activities and the advantages he gained from global trading based on slavery.

Booking/Registration is: RECOMMENDED

Additional Information

Age: Adults
Format: Talk
Timing: In person
Event Capacity: 20
Theme: Society
Accessibility: Accessible toilet, Lift

You might also like...

Read more at: EXHIBITION & PANEL DISCUSSION: CAMBRIDGE CREATIVE ENCOUNTERS

EXHIBITION & PANEL DISCUSSION: CAMBRIDGE CREATIVE ENCOUNTERS

9:30am-8:00pm on Monday 4 April
9:30am-8:00pm on Tuesday 5 April
9:30am-8:00pm on Wednesday 6 April
9:30am-8:00pm on Thursday 7 April
9:30am-8:00pm on Friday 8 April
10:00am-5:00pm on Saturday 9 April
3:00pm-4:30pm on Saturday 9 April
Timing: 
Available on Demand
In person
Format: 
Exhibition
Film
Other
Talk
Age: 
All Ages

Free exhibition: Monday 4th April - Friday 8th April, 9:30am-8:00pm and Saturday 9th April, 10:00am-5:00pm

...